PICTURE SHOW….Ahmad Yusoff celebrates with other members of the SAILA team as he lifts the Hales Trophy. On the left is SYC commodore Richard Lim 


PICTURE SHOW…..SYC sailors and officials with the Sandakan Darts Trophy

Please note
林紫靈 Richard Lim
梁駿健 James Leong
陳賜兴 Leonard Chin
SAILA – Persatuan Pelayaran Sabah

 Thursday October 13/2016

SANDAKAN: The 63rd edition of the Borneo Interport Regatta which concluded here over the weekend saw for the first time in the history of the event it was being umpired.

“This regatta which is the oldest in Malaysia and in my opinion this year’s event in Sandakan is one of the most successful. This is also the first time it is being umpired,” Sabah Sailing Association (SAILA) technical adviser and Chief Umpire Leonard Chin said during the closing ceremony at Sandakan Yacht Club.

Leonard congratulated Sandakan Yacht Club (SYC) for having done a good job in organizing the regatta. The last time it was held in Sandakan was more than 40 years ago.

He also thanked the Royal Malaysian Navy and Royal Malaysian Marine Police for providing their assets in ensuring the safety of sailors during the regatta

“The Borneo Interport Regatta has been traditionally participated by sailing clubs and associations from Sabah, Sarawak and Brunei Darussalam since 1954 but I hope we will invite sailing clubs from East Kalimantan for this event in the future,” Leonard said.

Nearly sixty sailors and officials from SAILA, Kinabalu Yacht Club, Royal Malaysian Navy Yacht Club Kota Kinabalu (NYCKK) and Sandakan Yacht Club took part in the regatta held at the sea fronting Sandakan Yacht Club on Saturday and Sunday.

SAILA dominated the two-day regatta, making a clean sweep of the three sailing events.  The umpire team was led by Leonard Chin and assisted by former Sabah SUKMA sailor Mabel Lim.

In his speech, SYC commodore Richard Lim commended the organizing team led by Sandakan Yacht Club rear commodore James Leong for successfully organizing the regatta.

Lim also thanked Sabah Youth and Sports Minister Datuk Haji Tawfiq Datuk Seri Panglima Haji Abu Bakar Titingan, sponsors, Royal Malaysian Navy, Royal Malaysian Marine Police and all participating teams.

Present at the closing ceremony were SYC rear commodore and organizing chairman James Leong, SAILA vice president Zainal Madi, SYC Trustee Datuk Alexander Khoo, SYC Honorary Legal Adviser Frankie Poon, DSP Mohd Shahrul Abdul Wahab who represented Sandakan OCPD ACP Zabidi Md Zain, Sandakan marine police commanding officer ASP Mazre Che Mahmod.

NYCKK commodore Captain Shahriman Haji Mahmud was represented by Leftenan Firdaus Mohd Zulhari while Kinabalu Yacht Club (KYC) was represented by rear commodore Johnny Tan.

Borneo Interport Regatta 2016 results:

Hales Trophy – 1) SAILA    2) Kinabalu Yacht Club    3) NYCKK

Dusty Millar Trophy – 1) SAILA   2) NYCKK     3) SYC

Borneo Optimist Regatta Trophy – 1) SAILA   2) KYC    3) SYC

Sandakan Darts Trophy – SYC

Sandakan Optimist Darts Trophy – KYC